About Us

Southside First Economic Development Council is an initiative launched by the South San Antonio Chamber of Commerce Foundation to be the voice of economic prosperity, community bridging and responsible development for the Southside (South San Antonio/South Bexar County). The 15-member board reflects a cross-section of community members, businesses and Southside institutions. Its primary role is to be a convener and to assist in facilitating programs, services or partnerships that move forward the Council’s goals of investment, engagement and accountability.

Southside First is a 501(c)3 non-profit. 

Southside First Goals

1. Encourage and Promote Investment
2. Energize and Empower Businesses and Residents
3. Support Revitalization Efforts for Southside Business Corridors and Neighborhoods


Laura Cabanilla, Chair

Wells Fargo

Financial Institution


Rob Rodriguez, Co-Chair

Verde Commercial

Commercial Real Estate

Janie Gonzalez

Webhead/Business Owner

City Council District 5

Samantha Carniero, Treasurer


Economic Center

Joe Pena

Frost Bank

South Chamber

Cindy Taylor 

Hot Wells Conservancy/Resident

City Council District 3

Lorraine Pullido


City Council District 4

Jane Gonzalez


County Commission Pct. 4


Rhonda Salinas

Hacienda Leon Real Estate

County Commissioner Pct. 1


Juan Solis

Port San Antonio - 

Board Member 

Economic Center


Dolores Zapata

Palo Alto College/CSLA Liaison

South Chamber


Dr. William Spindle

CFO - Texas A&M - San Antonio

Economic Center

Dr. Abelardo Saavedra

Superintendent - South San ISD


Michael Rey

Overland Partners

South Chamber At-Large

Mark Tolley

MIssion DG 

South Chamber At-Large


Judith A. Canales

Executive Director



Call us:
(210) 533-1600 

Find us: 

3315 Sidney Brooks, Ste. 200